Americorps NCCC Blog Post #9

It is currently 9AM and the first thing I did when I opened my eyes was to check my email because today is the day where I find out if I got the TL position or not. I GOT IT! The email arrived at 7AM my time (in Germany), so that means it was sent out at 12AM Central Time. They seem to have an automated email system that sends out all of these emails to possible TLs.

Now, the TL position I got was the Field Team Leader. This is the original position that I was hoping for before (and after) I found out about the other TL positions. I am super excited! This is a snippet of the email:

Screen Shot 2018-02-08 at 9.15.59 AM

So, my arrival date in Vicksburg, MS will be on June 19, 2018. Personally, I will be driving since I already live in the Southern Region. My time will end on May 4, 2019 when my class graduates.

I cannot put into words how excited I am to do this! I don’t often find things I want to do this much, but this was one of them and I worked hard and tried to write my answers on MyAmericorps as coherent and grammatically correct as I could, I practiced interview questions alone, I did my best to speak with confidence for the phone interview, and here we are!

I also want to note that one of the main reasons I think I got this position was because of how EARLY I applied. I applied on November 1st and it took over 3 months to complete the entire process. So, for anyone wanting to do this program, I recommend beginning at least 5 months before the deadline if at all possible.